OHS Canada Magazine

Purolator, Utilities Kingston, LCBO among winners at 2023 OHS Honours

Avatar photo

September 22, 2023
By OHS Canada

Health & Safety OHS Honours

The awards table at 2023 OHS Honours.

Hundreds of safety professionals from across Canada gathered on Sept. 21 at the Palais Royale on Toronto’s waterfront for the annual OHS Honours, celebrating outstanding achievements in occupational health and safety.

Hosted by OHS Canada, the national media brand focused on workplace safety, the event served as a platform for professionals to network and share best practices in addition to recognizing the leaders in the field.

“Tonight, we honor the people who ensure that we can all go to work, perform our tasks, and come home without incident. In other words, the people who literally save lives,” said Todd Humber, senior editor for OHS Canada.

“It’s important to pause and celebrate what you do. You might take it for granted, and say it’s just your job. We don’t view it that way. There is no more important role in any company than ensuring the workers go home safe at the end of the day.”

The gold sponsor for the event was Avetta. Silver sponsors included Workplace Safety & Prevention Services; Mechanix Wear; and Alcumus SafeContractor. The bronze sponsor was Phoenix.


OHS Honours took place on Sept. 21 at the Palais Royale in Toronto.

Winners of the 2023 OHS Honours

Best Ergonomics Program

  • Gold: Modern Niagara Vancouver
  • Silver: Compass Group Canada, Ontario Power Generation

OHS Rising Star

  • Gold: Joel Richer, EMCO
  • Silver: Julia Kulas, Stanley Black & Decker; Shannon Montgomery, Senate of Canada

OHS Lawyer of the Year

  • Gold: Norm Keith, KPMG Law
  • Silver: Jamie Jurczak, Taylor McCaffrey Law Corp; Lisa Bolton, Sherrard Kuzz LLP

OHS Canada Hall of Fame

  • Shirley Hickman, Threads of Life
  • Satnam (Sam) Chauhan, City of Surrey
  • Alan Quilley, OHS Safety Leader (posthumous)

Best Safety Communications Program

  • Gold: CRH Canada
  • Silver: University of Ottawa, GeoVerra

Best Use of Safety Technology

  • Gold: SLB
  • Silver: Ontario Power Generation, Halton Healthcare

Psychologically Safe Workplace Award

  • Gold: Liquor Control Board of Ontario (LCBO)
  • Silver: Purolator, CRH Canada

OHS Team of the Year

  • Gold: Utilities Kingston
  • Silver: University of Calgary, Compass Group Canada

OHS Professional of the Year

  • Gold: Niclas Eduardo Manson, Toronto Public Library
  • Silver: Lilian Riad-Allen, LCBO; Stephanie Benay, BC Hydro

OHS Culture Award

  • Gold: Purolator
  • Silver: CRH Canada, Bison Transport

Community Leader Award

  • Gold: Maryanne Pope, John Petropoulos Memorial Fund
  • Silver: Trina Hayden, NORCAT; Tanya Kowalenko, FortisBC

Top 25 Under 40

The next generation of safety leaders was also honoured. You can see more details about the winners at https://www.ohscanada.com/2023-top-25-under-40/

Here’s who made the list for 2023:

  • Heather Gough, IPC Canada
  • Emily Prager, WorkSafeBC
  • Robyn Spencer, P&H Milling Group
  • Keirson MacDonald, Compass Group Canada
  • Tracy Drew, National Microbiology Laboratory Branch
  • Kendra Griffiths, Mondelez Canada
  • Dominique Cloutier, Demix
  • Anders Wheeler, PCL
  • Brandon Vance, Norcat
  • Ashik Kumara Swamy, Harbridge and Cross
  • Kajal Griffeth, Cargill
  • Chelsea Laporte, Edmonton International Airport
  • Labhesh Modha, Blanco Canada
  • Cecilia Diaz, Atlantic Packaging
  • Mark Nolan, Multiplex Construction Canada
  • Moe Handous, Mammoet
  • Emilie Gaignard, Canadian Red Cross
  • Jarret Young, ONE Properties
  • Maria Robibero, Ledcor
  • Robert Taylor, Saskatchewan Government Insurance
  • Andrew Monkman, Raytheon
  • Niclas Eduardo Manson, Toronto Public Library/Manson Methods
  • Joanie Grandy, Capital Regional District
  • Jasmine Ramrup, Hemlo
  • Alicia Herwynen, Stanley Black and Decker.

Full coverage detailing the achievements of the winners will be released in the coming days and weeks on OHS Canada’s media platforms.


Stories continue below