OHS Canada Magazine

Nominations open for 2023 OHS Honours, Canada’s premier workplace safety awards

Avatar photo

February 22, 2023
By OHS Canada

Health & Safety editor pick OHS Honours

Nominations are now open for 2023 OHS Honours,

OHS Honours is back, and it’s going to be bigger and better than ever for 2023. Nominations are now open and, as always, there is no nomination fee to participate.

This is the third year for the program, from the publishers of OHS Canada, which attracted a record number of nominations in 2022. For 2023, there is a mix of individual and team awards up for grabs.

And it all culminates in a gala celebration on Sept. 21, 2023, at the Palais Royale on Toronto’s waterfront.

“This is one of our favourite initiatives every year. It gives us the chance to tell the stories, in-depth, of some of the best occupational health and safety practices in the country,” said Todd Humber, senior editor for OHS Canada. “It’s always encouraging to see the amazing work done by safety professionals.”

Team award winners last year included the likes of Air Canada, Linamar, City of Surrey, McKinnon & Olding, Compass Group Canada and the BC Municipal Safety Association and more.


Individual award winners included professionals from Enbridge, Workplace Safety & Prevention Services, Auspice Safety, GFL, Purolator, Stellantis, McMastter University, Ledcor, the Canadian Red Cross and more.

2023 Individual Awards

Launched in 2021, OHS Canada Honours recognizes the achievements of Canadian OHS professionals in numerous categories:

  • OHS Professional of the Year
  • Community Leader Award
  • OHS Rising Star Award
  • OHS Lawyer of the Year
  • Hall of Fame (3 inductees to be announced in 2023)

Strong work ethics, leadership by example and dedication to health and safety will all be acknowledged.

2023 Team Awards

These awards will honour the best in class in the following categories:

  • OHS Culture Award
  • Best Safety Communications Program
  • Best Use of Safety Technology
  • OHS Team of the Year
  • Best Hand Protection Program
  • Psychologically Safe Workplace Award
  • Best Ergonomics Program

The deadline to submit nominations is Aug. 1, 2023. For more information on OHS Honours, visit https://www.ohscanada.com/ohs-canada-honours/ 

For more information on the Top 25 Under 40 program, visit https://www.ohscanada.com/top-25-under-40/

Save the date!

The winners of OHS Honours and the Top 25 Under 40 will be announced at a special gala celebration on Sept. 21, 2023, at the Palais Royale in Toronto.

OHS Canada is also hosting a special half-day conference on workplace safety immediately before the festivities kick off. Details to come, but save the date!

For sponsorship information, contact Silvana Maiolo, brand sales manager for OHS Canada, at smaiolo@annexbusinessmedia.com or (416) 722-8403.


Stories continue below