OHS Canada Magazine

York Region launches first of its kind health and safety for management program

September 10, 2002

Health & Safety

NEWMARKET Jill Hutcheon, Deputy Minister of Labour, joined members of York Regional Council in launching a new health and safety for management program the first of its kind in Canada.

Designed to provide comprehensive health and safety training for supervisors and managers, the program was developed by the Regional Municipality of York, with support from the Workplace Safety Insurance Board (WSIB), the Municipal Health and Safety Association (MHSA) and the Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS).

“Here at York Region, we are committed to providing safe and healthy workplaces for all our Regional employees,” said Regional Chair Bill Fisch. “This program, which senior management has made mandatory for all our supervisors, exceeds legislative requirements to have competent supervisors when it comes to workplace health and safety.”

Deputy Minister of Labour, Jill Hutcheon noted that “having healthy and safe workplaces is important to every business every organization. It is one of the hallmarks of a well-run organization.”

Targeted to management staff in municipal government, the program is comprised of three components an instructors guide with lesson plans, a participants guide, and a CD Rom featuring Power Point presentations with complementary video clips to be used as interactive exercises. The course is divided into ten modules, including the importance of communications, safety principles, risk management, emergency preparedness and fire prevention.

The MHSA and CCOHS will be making the program available to municipalities across the province and country.

The Regional Municipality of York provides many essential services, including Police Services, Ambulance, Health Services, Public Transit, Regional Roads, Solid Waste Disposal, Water and Wastewater, Regional Planning and Growth Management, Social Assistance, Children and Family Services, and Housing. York Region is comprised of the following nine area municipalities: Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Markham, Newmarket, Richmond Hill, Vaughan and Whitchurch-Stouffville. For more information, visit our Web site at: www.region.york.on.ca


Contact: Wendy Lewis, Corporate Communications Services, York Region

(905) 830-4444 or 1-877-464-9675, Ext. 1238

E-mail: wendy.lewis@region.york.on.ca


Stories continue below

Print this page

Related Stories