OHS Canada Magazine


October 3, 2013

Health & Safety

CALGARY, Alta. (Press Release, September 30, 2013)

Winners of 2013 Ernest C. Manning Innovation Awards were announced today by Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation President Jennifer Diakiw. (www.manningawards.ca)

The 2013 winners, from British Columbia, Ontario and Nova Scotia, share $145,000 in prizes. The 2013 Young Canadian Award winners from Ontario and Quebec share $16,000 in prizes.  

Innovations created by the 2013 Ernest C. Manning Innovation Award winners include:

  • a social innovation from Halifax now being offered in four Canadian provinces with outstanding outcomes;
  • a device for hearing aids created in Kitchener that reduces loud and sharp sounds which can cause acoustic shock, now being sold in more than 60 countries;
  • a safety device manufactured in Scarborough now on public and commercial transportation vehicles on four continents; and,
  • ‘Heads-up display’ technology developed in Vancouver now being added to ski/snowboard goggles and athletic sunglasses by leading eye wear manufacturers.

The five Young Canadian award winners, two now in University and three still in high school, created inspiring innovations which were showcased earlier this year at the 2013 Canada-Wide Science Fair. 

The 2013 Ernest C. Manning Innovation Award recipients are:

Dr. Patricia Lingley-Pottie and Dr. Patrick McGrath, Halifax, NS,  co-recipients of the $100,000 Encana Principal Award for creating a social innovation, The Strongest Families Institute.  The not for profit Institute provides distance services to families dealing with behavior, anxiety and bedwetting problems. Services are delivered by highly-trained coaches who teach families skills through 16 telephone sessions supported by handbooks, videos and websites.  The convenient, family-centered approach increases access for families in need of help and is a proven, evidence- based, cost-effective solution for the health system. (www.strongestfamilies.com);

Dr. Henry Luo, Kitchener, ON, $25,000 David E. Mitchell Award of Distinction, for developing AntiShock™ Technology.  Since its creation in 2006 by Dr. Luo in Unitron’s research labs in Kitchener, AntiShock™ Technology has been integrated into five million hearing aids, now sold in 60 countries. The innovative technology instantly detects and controls sudden and harsh noises – before they are even detected by the listener – while preserving a person’s ability to clearly hear speech and conversations.  (www.unitronhearing.com);

Ilfor ‘Taffy’ Caine Davies, Oakville, ON, $10,000 Ernest C. Manning Innovation Award for developing Zafety Lug Lock®, a transport wheel locking device that ‘cuffs’ wheel nuts to create the required resistance to keep wheel bolts secure.  There are now one million Zafety Lug Lock® devices on public and commercial vehicles. (www.zafetyluglock.com);

Applications for 2014 Ernest C. Manning Innovation Awards are now being accepted on line at manningawards.ca. Deadline is December 2, 2013.  Twitter: @ManningAwardsCA Facebook.com/ManningAwards


Media contact: Rosemarie Enslin, Enslin Group, enslin@enslinpr.com; 1 866 545 6206/403 245 8321 Twitter: @RosemariePRyyc.


Stories continue below

Print this page

Related Stories