OHS Canada Magazine

David Johnston succeeds Monica Szabo as BCRSP chair

Avatar photo

July 24, 2020
By OHS Canada

Health & Safety BCRSP editor pick

Revamped national safety board unveiled for 1-year term

David Johnston. (Submitted)

David Johnston, CRSP, has been appointed the new chair of the Board of Canadian Registered Safety Professionals (BCRSP).

The move is effective as of July 1, according to a news release. He will serve a one-year term.

Johnston is the 25th chair of the certification body, succeeding Monica Szabo. He will lead the board through the execution of its strategic plan and vision.

Based in Toronto, Johnston is a seasoned environment, health and safety professional with more than three decades’ experience. He is currently employed by Toronto Hydro as director of environment, health and safety.

Johnston has international experience and volunteers in multiple capacities.


Joining Johnston on the BCRSP executive for 2020/2021 are:

  • Robin Angel (vice-chair)
  • David Larson (secretary-treasurer)
  • Monica Szabo (past chair).

Returning governors include:

  • Paul Belair
  • Tehzin Chadwick
  • Mark Fernandes
  • Marianne Matichuk
  • Dave Rebbitt
  • Sandra Stephens (public member)
  • Peter Sturm.

Newly elected governors are Stephanie Benay and William Rowan. Nikki Wright remains executive director.

Located in Mississauga, Ont., the BCRSP sets certification standards for the occupational health and safety profession.

Through the Canadian Registered Safety Professional (CRSP) and Canadian Registered Safety Technician (CRST) certifications, the board enables OH&S practitioners to demonstrate their expertise.


Stories continue below

Print this page

Related Stories